Blackberry Cobbler

Another recipe that reminds me of my Granny. I LOVE blackberry cobbler. If I could only have one dessert for the rest of my life it would be blackberry cobbler.

This is a pretty simple recipe, nothing fancy, no secret ingredients. The good thing about that is that you can change things to suit you. That’s the reason there isn’t a fixed amount of blackberries called for. Different people like different amounts of berries in their cobbler. For example: my dad and I like a lower berry to dough ratio than my mom. I usually end up with a lower ratio anyway because; 1. I’m making the blasted thing so I’ll make it like I want it and 2. I have a bunch of scraps of dough left over after making the lattice work on top and I don’t want them to go to waste so I mix them in with the berries. I also usually end up using two pie crusts to make the top.

What you will need:

1 1/3 cups sugar
½ cup all-purpose flour
½ cup butter, melted
2 tsp vanilla
2 bags frozen blackberries, thawed
1 refrigerated piecrust
1 tbsp sugar

Stir together first 4 ingredients in large bowl. Gently add blackberries until sugar mixture is crumbly. Spoon into lightly greased 11×7 baking dish.Cut piecrust into 1/2 inch wide strips and arrange strips over blackberries. Sprinkle top with sugar.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Poof said,

    You need your own cooking show. I am off to email the Food Network.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

