Maple Chipotle Pork Tenderloins

You will need:

½ cup BBQ sauce
½ cup maple syrup
2 chipotle peppers in adoba sauce
1 tsp adoba sauce from peppers
2 (1 lb each) pork tenderloins (the small type)

Combine the BBQ sauce and maple syrup. As you can see, I used little packets of BBQ sauce. It’s because I forgot that I didn’t have any more in a bottle so I had to make due with what I had.

Open the can of Chipotle peppers and take two out. I know it sound like a waste but I just throw away the left over peppers, I just don’t use them often enough to save.

Slice the peppers open.

Scrape the seeds out and discard them. That’s where the major heat is.

Then slice and dice the heck out of the things.

Add the diced peppers to the BBQ sauce/maple syrup mixture and then add 1 tsp of the adoba sauce from the can of peppers and mix well.

Coat the tenderloins with the mixture. Now, at this point you can either let the tenderloins marinade for a while or you can go ahead and cook them.

Bake in a 375 degree oven for 20-30 minutes, basting occasionally with sauce.

As you can see by the mutilated tenderloin I don’t have a meat thermometer so I always end up cutting meat open to see if it’s done. This is the first time I have made these and I was pretty happy with how the turned out. They didn’t really need any additional salt and they had a nice balance of sweet with a bit of spice. I’ll make these again.

* Note to diabetics: It is possible to make this with the sugar free versions of BBQ sauce and maple syrup. I use the kinds made with Splenda.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Poof said,

    Keep this up and the Pioneer Woman is gonna have some major competition.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

