Red Beans and Rice

As I was growing up my family moved around a bit. No, neither of my parents were in the military. My dad worked for a government agency and as he got promoted we moved to different locations. We ended up living in Louisiana, south of New Orleans, for about 8 years. From this my family got a lot of Creole influences and dishes in its cooking. This is one of those dishes.

You will need:
1-2 lbs smoked sausage
7 cups water
1 stalk celery, diced
1 whole onion, diced
1 lb bag dried red beans
2 cloves garlic, minced
Salt and pepper

When I cooked this recipe this time I used a combination of smoked sausage and hog jowl because I had some jowl left over from making the turnip greens. If you do this just cut back on the amount of sausage you use to allow for it.

Slice the sausage down its length and then cut into ½ inch half coins. If you are also using hog jowl cut it up into small chunks. Boil all the meat in the water for a few minutes as you dice the celery and onion.

Add the celery, onion, beans, garlic, and salt and pepper to the water and cook at a low simmer for 4-5 hours or until the beans are done and the water has reduced. Check it every once in a while to give it a light stir and to make sure all the water hasn’t cooked away.

Serve over rice.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    lululu said,

    such healthy and simple dish!!!!!

  2. 2

    Poof said,

    I think I might actually attempt to make this one! Looks scrumdiddlyumptious!

  3. 3

    Kristen said,

    Red beans and rice is one of my favorite things… but no one else in my family will eat it 😦 This sounds good!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

