Georgia Peach Pie

I love pie, me-oh-my, I love pie.

I guess you could use peaches from anywhere but, seeing as how I’m from Georgia, I have to use Georgia peaches. It’s the law.

Seriously though, I really do like pie alot. I haven’t met one that I didn’t like. I’m not saying there isn’t one out there, but I haven’t come across it yet. I love pumpkin pie for thanksgiving, apple pie in the fall, peach pie and cherry pie in the summer. It’s all good. I do prefer to use fresh fruit, not that canned crap. And I’m just going to pass right over that premade crust vs. homemade crust issue if it’s all the same to you guys.

You will need:

1 batch of your favorite pie crust recipe or premade pie crusts. Enough for two, this is a double crust pie.
1 egg, beaten
6 cups sliced peeled peaches
Juice of 1 lime
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup white sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons butter

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Toss the peaches with the lime juice and then drain off excess lime juice and peach juice.

Mix together the flour, sugar, cinnamon, nutmet, and salt. Then combine with the peaches.

Line a 9 inch pie plate with one pie crust and brush the entire thing with egg.

Pour the peaches into the pie pan, dot with the butter and top with the other pie crust. Pinch the edges, cut a few slits and brush the top with egg.

Bake in preheated oven for 10 minutes and then reduce heat to 360 degrees and bake for another 30 -35 mintues.

Let cool then serve.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    grace said,

    good call, avoiding the crust issue. yours looks stellar, by the way. the whole pie looks stellar. i too enjoy every bite of any pie that passes between my lips. 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

