My Continued Love Affair With Pie

Cherry pie, I love thee. This isn’t you’re momma’s pie; this isn’t a run of the mill sour cherry pie. No, this is a sweet, dark cherry pie. Now, I happen to prefer dark cherries to sour cherries for pie making. But then again I also don’t like to use Granny Smith apples for my apple pie. Call me crazy.

You will need:

3/4 cup sugar
5 tbsp cornstarch
7 cups pitted and sliced sweet cherries
1/2 tsp almond extract
1/4 tsp cinnamon
Your favorite recipe for/brand of pie crust

Combine sugar and cornstarch; add to cherries; then add extract and cinnamon. Transfer cherries to crust lined 9 inch pie pan and top with crust. I prefer to do a lattice crust on this pie. It looks so pretty. I also like to do an egg wash over the top. It makes it glossy.

Place in oven preheated to 375 degrees. You will probably want to put something under the pie to catch the drips. Bake for 1 hour to 1 hour and 15 minutes. Let cool and enjoy.

I almost called this entry “The Cherry Murders.” This is what my hand looked like after messing with all those cherries.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    quilt32 said,

    I’ve made a lot of sour cherry pies, but never a sweet cherry. I’ll have to try this.
    Lillian

  2. 2

    grace said,

    what a stellar pie! i love that your filling isn’t oozing all over the pie pan. mine always does, but that’s probably because i don’t let it cool properly…i can never wait to dig in. 🙂

  3. 3

    Dianne said,

    I like to use the dark cherries too! It looks fabulous!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

